English

Museum of Hiiumaa has five branches, which are located in different parts of the island. In these small museums you can get a good overview of the history and culture of Hiiumaa island. See locations.

Admission

1.10 – 30.04  1.05 – 30.09
Adults 2 €  3 €
Students/ seniors 1.50 € 2 €
Family ticket (2 adults and children until 17 years old) 5 € 6 €
Group tickets (from 10 people)  
Adults 1.50 €  2 €
Students/ seniors 1 €  1.50 €

THE LONG HOUSE

Until the mid-20th century, the main building of the Hiiumaa Museum was a dwelling for directors of the Hiiu-Kärdla textile factory (the factory was destroyed in a fire during WW II). Among locals, the house was known as the Long House (Pikk Maja). Built in the 1830-40s, the over 60-meter building is the longest wooden house in Kärdla to this day. During the Soviet years, the building housed various municipal offices, such as the local department of education and a library, and served as a civil building facilitating festive marriage ceremonies.
Today, the museum consists of offices, collection storage, library, and exhibition rooms. The permanent exhibit shows the everyday life of workers and executives of the textile factory, and a model of the manufacturing buildings. Also on display is the living room of the factory’s first director, complete with life-size statues of Baron von Ungern-Sternberg (1813-1898) and his wife.

The museum has a gift shop offering a wide variety of handicrafts and souvenirs from Hiiumaa.

Additional info: the facilities can be rented for receptions, conferences, seminars, workshops, lectures, concerts, and other special occasions.

Guided tours are available.

OPENING HOURS
01.01 – 30.04 Mon-Sat 10 – 17, closed on Sunday
01.05 – 30.09 Mon-Sun 10 – 18
01.10 – 31.12 Mon-Sun 10 – 17
Museum is closed in national holidays.

 

RUDOLF TOBIAS HOUSE MUSEUM

Built in the first half of the 19th century, the house is one of very few surviving buildings of its kind in Estonia – a town house combined with elements of a country house. Rudolf Tobias, the first Estonian professional composer, was born in the back chamber on May 29, 1873, and spent most of his childhood in this house. His father Johannes was assistant pastor and organist at Käina church.

The historic exhibition is about the composer’s life – in Estonia, St.Petersburg, and Berlin – and his music. 19th and 20th century furniture and musical instruments can be seen inside, the yard includes a barnhouse, shed-cellar, a well, and a windmill characteristic to Hiiumaa. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful view of the bay with its rich birdlife, which surely was a source of inspiration for the young Rudolf Tobias.

Additional info: picnic area, workshops, concerts, open air events.

OPENING HOURS
21.08 – 31.05 Opened by appointment
01.06 – 20.08 Wed-Sat 11 – 17
Museum is closed in national holidays.

 

KASSARI EXPOSITION BUILDING

The limestone house built for the Kassari manor’s governor – the Manor Lodge House – displays a permanent exhibit introducing Hiiumaa’s history and nature. The museum houses a wide collection of items providing an overview of the island’s history from the first inhabitants until the regaining of independence of the Republic of Estonia. The display includes examples of local peasant and manor cultures, village life, maritime history, agriculture and education.
Hiiumaa Museum first started working in the building in 1967, and has preserved the atmosphere of a classic nostalgic local lore museum. The museum gift shop offers a wide variety of handicrafts and souvenirs from Hiiumaa.

Additional info: workshops, open air events, guided nature tours.

OPENING HOURS
Due to construction works is Kassari Exposition House closed from 1.11.2016 to 30.04.2017.
01.05 – 30.09 Mon-Sun 10 – 18
01.10 – 31.10 Wed-Sun 10-17
Museum is closed in national holidays.

 

MIHKLI FARMSTEAD COMPLEX

Mihkli farmhouse in the village of Malvaste is an exceptionally well-preserved example of the countryside architecture of northern Hiiumaa. Dating from the 19th century, the buildings offer visitors a good look at the local building customs and household items used in a farmhouse.
The farm was occupied by swedes until the deportation of 1781; the last habitants left in 1987.

The spacious yard is an ideal location for hosting various events. Visit the unique smoke sauna or have a nice picnic in the woods – these are just a few things that Mihkli farmstead complex has to offer.

Additional info: picnic grounds, workshops, smoke sauna, open air events.

OPENING HOURS
01.09 – 13.05 Opened by appointment
14.05 – 31.08 Wed-Sun 11 – 18
Museum is closed in national holidays.

 

MIHKEL KIIBUS KROOGI FARMHOUSE

Built in 1936, the farmstead of ship carpenter Mihkel Kiibus is located in Valgu village. His daughter Helma left it to the museum in 1988.

The Kiibus house tells the story of a mariner’s home in the 1930s, of the distruction of family in the war, of deportation to Siberia, and the Soviet era that followed. It’s an opportunity to see a still shot in history, where nothing has changed since the people left in 1988.